Silver Medal Award Event & Northbest: Ads of Minnesota


5:00 pm:  Northbest:Adds of Minnesota

6:00 pm: Silver Medal Program

* Welcome

* Paul Foss Award Presentation.  The 2016 Paul Foss award will be presented to Neil White of BBDO.

* Silver Medal Presentation.  The 2016 Silver Medal Award will be presented to Greg Kurowski of Periscope.

* Video remarks by Tom Weyl.

We’re excited to see you at Northbest: Ads of Minnesota Tuesday, October 4th at The Commons in Downtown Minneapolis. Due to the potential for inclement weather, note that we have moved the timing up. Bring your chair or blanket, find a spot and enjoy the reel.

Please join us at 5 pm for eats and libations at The Commons, including food from Butcher Salt, Market BBQ and Potter’s Pasties as well as 612Brew, Barley John’s Brewery, Castle Danger Brewing, Fair State Brewing Cooperative, F-Town Beer Company, Fulton Beer, Insight Brewing, Lakes & Legends Brewing Co., North Gate Brewing, Sociable Cider Werks, Third Street Brewhouse and more.

For more information on Northbest: Ads of Minnesota, including biographies of the curation committee and additional content, visit For up-to-date news and information, follow @MplsDowntown on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram and interact using the hashtag #Northbest.


 Please join us for the 2016 Silver Medal Award event at our newest downtown park, The Commons


(Photo courtesy Damon Farber Associates)


About Greg Kurowski:


As President and CEO for 16 years, Kurowski led Periscope to become one of the largest independent agencies in the country and a Minneapolis powerhouse with an annual 15% CAGR, global offices in Hong Kong and Delhi and over 500 employees. He’s worked with an impressive client roster including Target, UnitedHealth Group, Arctic Cat and US Bank. And after 25+ years in the ad industry, he retired in 2016. Kurowski currently serves as Vice Chair on the Periscope board of directors.

About Tom Weyl:

Tom Wehl_2016 Silver Medal event

Starting in the paste-up room at Campbell-Mithun in 1968, Weyl joined Martin|Williams in 1973 as art director. He later became President, Chief Creative Officer and co-owner. Retiring in 2001, he moved to Bonita Springs, Florida when he was an organizer and director of The Royal Palm Bank of Florida. Weyl currently resides in Aiken, South Carolina.

About Neil White:


Neil is the President & CEO at BBDO MPLS.  Neil’s advertising experience was gained in South Africa, Canada and the United States, were he worked at several international agencies. Throughout his career he has focused on finding communication ideas that link people to brands in surprising and motivating ways.


About the Paul Foss Award:

The Paul Foss award was first awarded in 1981.  It recognizes a member of the Advertising Federation of Minnesota who has made outstanding contributions to the organization.

About the Silver Medal Award:

Silver Medallion

The Silver Medal Award was established in 1959 by the American Advertising Federation, AAF, to recognize men and women who have made outstanding contributions to advertising and who have been active in furthering the industry’s standards, creative excellence and responsibility in areas of social concern.


About Northbest: Ads of Minnesota:


The Minneapolis Downtown Council, in partnership with AdFed MN and Intersections: The Downtown 2025 Plan’s Downtown Experience Committee, has created a new event that highlights and celebrates the achievements of the Minneapolis creative community.

Northbest: Ads of Minnesota will take place Thursday, September 22 at The Commons beginning at 8 pm. The event will focus on Minneapolis’ innovative strength through its nationally- and internationally-recognized work, offering local creative agencies the opportunity to see their work celebrated with the public in an entertaining screening outdoors in downtown Minneapolis.

The Northbest event, which starts at 8:00 p.m. is free and open to the public and will include food trucks, beverages and networking along with the creative screening.


Thank you!





foxRothschildCMYK (002)


Additional sponsorship opportunities available.  Contact Angel Suarez for more information at [email protected] 


Silver Medal Recipients

(company/agency at time of award)

Greg Kurowski – 2016, Periscope

Chuck Ruhr –  2015, Chuck Ruhr Advertising

Nancy Rice – 2013, Minneapolis College of Art and Design, was a Co-Founder of Fallon McElligott Rice

Lili Hall – 2012, KNOCK, Inc

Lynne Robertson – 2011, FAME Retail

Joe Duffy – 2010, Duffy

Bob Barrie – 2008. Barrie D’Rozario DiLorenzo

John Olson – 2007, OLSON

Earl Herzog – 2006, Campbell Mithun

Jack Supple – 2005, Pocket Hercules

Tom Whelan – 2004, Nemer Fieger

Sue Crolick – 2003, Founder of Art Buddies

Charlie Hoag – 2002, Star Tribune

Bob Thacker – 2001, Target

Howard Liszt – 2000, Campbell-Mithun

Tom Weyl – 1999, Martin Williams

Ron Graham – 1998, Better Business Bureau

Stephen Bergerson – 1997, Fredrikson & Byron

Dean Buresh – 1996, Bozell

Steve Goldstein – 1994, University of Minnesota Foundation

Father James Whalen – 1993, University of St. Thomas

Pat Fallon – 1992, Fallon

Dale Haworth – 1991, Haworth Media

David Floren – 1990, Martin Williams

Norma Cox – 1989, American Public Media

Lee Lynch – 1988, Carmichael Lynch 

John Pellegrene – 1987, Target

Tom McElligott – 1986, Fallon, McEliigott Rice

Ron Anderson – 1985, Bozell

Jack Mark – 1984, Minnegasco

Al Whitman – 1983, Campbell Mithun

Steve Griak – 1982, Wilson Griak

Stanley E. Hubbard – 1981, Hubbard Broadcasting

Dr. Willard Thompson – 1980, University of Minnesota

George Alarik – 1979, BBDO

Richard Wilson – 1978, Wilson Griak

Sherman Headley – 1977, WCCO TV

Al Clague – 1975, BBDO

Gordon Malen – 1974, First National Bank of Minneapolis

Herbert Willis – 1973, Willis & Borg

Paul Foss – 1972. Foss Printing and Lithography

Otto Silha – 1971, Star Tribune

Ken Oelschlager – 1970, Kerker and Associates

Roy Larson – 1969, TIME, Inc.

Fran Kiewel – 1968, Grain Belt Breweries

F. Van Konynenburg – 1967, WCCO Radio and TV

Felton Colwell – 1966, Colwell Press

James Fish – 1965, General Mills

John Cornelius – 1964, BBDO

Ward Olmsted – 1963, Olmsted & Foley

Herb Bissell – 1962, Honeywell

Raymond Mithun – 1961, Campbell Mithun

Samuel Gale – 1960, General Mills


Register Here!
October4th5:00 pm to 7:30 pm2016


$40 for non-members

Free to Ad Fed/Ad 2 Members


The Commons Park is located in front of the new football stadium.

Nearby Parking Ramps include:

Jerry Haaf Memorial Parking Ramp 424 S 4th St

Government Center Municipal Parking Ramp 415 S 5th St

Gateway Parking Ramp 400 S 3rd St


The Commons
424 Portland Ave S
Minneapolis, MN 55415

Loading Map....